NZ has begun…1st stop Auckland :)

Luckily I had a friend that picked me up at the airport at 5am after the 13hour flight. To beat the jet lag I decided to stay up for the whole day and it worked!
I stayed with friends about 30mins West of Auckland for a night. We went to a nearby beach for a walk. The scenery immediately is so different from S.A. and a lot of the scenery reminds me of home.

image

Weather cleared up so we went to Devonport village for a traditional NZ pie.

image

Spent the evening drinking some home brewed cider, hot tubbing and eating steak 🙂
The next morning we took a drive around the city in the lashing rain. Museum looked amazing and it was surrounded by gorgeous gardens.

I checked into my hostel ‘Nomads’ and braved the rain for a walk around the Aqueduct area and Queen Street. Even in the rain it looked nice with all the fancy yachts and cool bars and shops.
Nightlife is really good here but drinks are so expensive. Cheapest drinks I could find were 9dollar vodka and mixer! Bit of a change from S.A. prices 😦 Luckily I was in NZ for the rugby match so I got up at 4am to watch it in a local Irish pub. Atmosphere was good but thought it’d be better. It was no All Ireland! 😉
Thankfully the sun came out the next day so I could see Auckland in all its glory. I started with the Sky Tower which was very good. Amazing views from the top and a lovely cafe to sit off and take in the views.

image

After the Sky Tower I took a bus to Mission Bay because the weather was so nice. I regretted not walking it, it’s a 10k walk by the sea so I walked halfway back until it got too cold and windy for what I was wearing. Mission beach is gorgeous and I sat here and watched people play volleyball and eat ice-cream.

image

Back to the hostel to cook dinner and chill out with a few people on the rooftop. Early morning ahead of me to start the Kiwi Experience.

Leave a comment