Long Boat To Laos

I was trying to find a way around getting the long boat because I was eager to get to Laos to start my volunteering but as it turns out it’s very difficult and more expensive to get to Luang Prabang any other way. So slow boat it is!
I’m so happy I did it. Some friends I had met in Chiang Mai were already passed the border so we arranged to get the same boat. This really made it! Having a good group with you can really make the trip.
I got a minibus from the hostel in Chiang Rai to the border. I had to pay 35American dollars and give a passport picture for a visa. Asia is expensive for Irish people!! From here a taxi tuk tuk brought us to a travel company where they wanted us to buy expensive food for the bus. I was stocked up already ofcourse! Then it was another taxi tuk tuk to the boat.
The first day boat is a big long tail with rickety seats and a mostly tourists but locals aswell. All they sell.on the boat is beer and light snacks so it’s well known it’s a bit of a drinking boat. Boat left at about 12pm and we settled in for a 7 hour journey. We had great craic. Everyone’s sitting on the sides taking in the views, drinking beers, playing music, there was even an off duty clown making balloon animals at one stage.

image

Chilling with drinks on the boat 🙂

The time strangely flys and everyone is making friends and swapping stories, it’s a great atmosphere and the views arnt too bad either.

image

Sunset from the boat on Day 1.

We arrived to our first stop for the night. Name isn’t coming to me right now. It’s a tiny place and we got a guesthouse for 25000kip which is about 2 euro for the night. We ate in the guesthouse restaurant and continued on to the adjoining bar which is the only bar in the town I think! We played darts and drank local whisky which a few of us ended up buying a bottle of! :/ Luckily the bar closed about 12 so we wernt too late to bed before our early start for Day 2 on the boat.

image

Making friends with the locals

We tried to be at the boat early as advised but ofcourse with getting breakfast and packed lunches we were a tad late so we ended up at the back. We didn’t realise Day 2 boat is a bit more swankier. Tables at the front and seats that don’t move and western toilets! It was very comfortable and we couldnt believe how fast the time went. Day 2 is a lot more chilled. Still a few beers ofcourse but the views are nicer and and people a lot tamer chatting, reading etc. We all really enjoyed it.

image

Children selling us bracelets

We saw elephants, lots of water buffalo, locals and lots of children playing on the banks of the river. There is only one slow boat a day so the river is quiet and serene.
We got to Luang Prabang at about 5pm and we genuinely didn’t feel ready to leave. We were all so comfortable and you can’t help but relax on the boat.

image

Scrambling off the boat in Luang Prabang

We got a tuk tuk taxi to our hostel as the pier is very far from the town. We were so happy to see the hostel had a pool and it was actually clean! So we hopped straight into that to wake ourselves up.
We went for a wander around the nearby night markets which were actually so well laid out and organised unlike the Thai markets but it’s definitely more expensive here compared to Thailand. For our last supper together we decided to go to a recommended restaurant from my usual trip advisor and blog research. We got a Laos sampler plate between us to try out what Laos food has to offer. I have heard a.lot of negative things, before I got here, about the food. Maybe it was the restaurant but our food was delicious. Lots of green vegetables, buffalo meat and skin, spicy salads and soups. I think I can live with that 🙂

image

Tasting plate

I may have to live with it because tomoro I’m taking an 8hour local bus to Phonsaven to go volunteering in a school for a week. Supposedly all food and accommodation is free and I’m going to need to do more of that if I want to afford to stay going. I’m excited for the change aswell. Itl be an experience 🙂

Leave a comment